ETIAS: The European ESTA in 2023

ETIAS: The European ESTA in 2023
Starting May 2023, the European Union will set up the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System). Who, what, when, how – Oui Immigration tells you more about it!

Developed to improve migration controls and security in the Schengen area, ETIAS is an electronic travel authorization similar to the US’ ESTA. Watch out: this is not a visa, but only an authorization to enter the Schengen territory.

To which countries of destination?

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, Germany, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican.

The ETIAS will also be valid for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania, which are in the process of joining the Schengen area.

For whom?
  •  For all citizens of visa-waiver countries (= who do not need to obtain a visa before arriving in one of these countries). You’ll find the list below.
  • Citizens of countries that do not benefit from a visa exemption(= who must obtain a visa before arriving in one of these countries) will have to apply for the appropriate visa.

Currently, the eligible countries are the following: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Macedonia, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & grenadines, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela.

For what?
  • Tourist, business or transit trips
  • ETIAS does not allow work.
Practical information
  • Allows a stay of 90 days per period of 180 days per year
  • Validity: 3 years or until the end of expiry of the passport
  • Allows to travel within the Schengen area once obtained
  • From May 2023, the application can be made online on the ETIAS Application – ETIAS.COM website. It takes around 10/15 minutes.
  • The fees are 7€
  • It is to be anticipated at least 8 days before your departure

Oui Immigration will keep you informed upon the effective implementation of the ETIAS. Until then, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question:

Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *